Llao Llao Hotel History

In 1934, the Patagonia and Andean regions were completely uninhabited and virgin territories.

In that year, with the creation of the Nahuel Huapi National Park, the construction of an International Hotel was started with the aim of developing the touristic potential of the area, together with the foundation of towns and development of communication networks.

Architect Alejandro Bustillo chose the Puerto Pañuelo area in order to build the Hotel because, besides the magnificent and beautiful scenery, it had a port. Built with cypress logs and larch tiles in the Canadian home style, it was opened to the public on January 9th, 1938. On October 26th, 1939 a fire destroyed the building completely, but it was reopened on December 15th, 1940. Since then, members of the aristocracy, officials, diplomats and famous guests have stayed at the hotel. Although it closed in 1978 for a period of 15 years, the spirit of the hotel remained intact.

The Hotel opened its doors to the public again in 1993 under the name of Llao Llao Hotel & Resort, Golf-Spa. In December 2007, the Lago Moreno wing was opened (Llao Llao Deluxe Suites – Moreno Lake Wing) built on a strategic site with stunning views of Moreno Lake and Mount Tronador. The wing has 43 new rooms: Deluxe Studios and Suites, two Master Suites and one Royal Suite.


Building process of LLao Llao Hotel in Patagonia

Construction of Llao Llao Hotel in 1936 by architect Alejandro Bustillo.

National Park publication

Publication from Agentine National Parks about the construction plan of the Grand Hotel Llao Llao, 1937